This is why I went back to a Point and Shoot camera

Wow!!! How many pictures would you have to sell to justify this baby to the wife?  That makes the Microsoft Surface I was looking at earlier seem like a bargain. This lens is so big that you mount the lens on the tripod and your camera just hangs on the back. I am sure it takes beautiful shots but …. Wow!

I recently purchased a Canon sx40 HS camera. $350. It is much lighter than my DSLR. Has Image Stabilization, better zoom, higher megapixels, shoots video. In some cases the pictures may not be as good and in other cases they should be even better. Of course, my current DSLR (Rebel XT) is about 6 years old. To get the same features on a comparable DSLR would probably cost me several thousand dollars. I just found that lugging a DSLR around took the fun out of it. I wanted a camera that was as much fun to use as my iPhone is,  but takes better shots. I think this one will do the trick at least I hope so. It is going to get a good workout when I go out to Las Vegas  in June.

Leave a Reply

